Wk 11 – Activity – Fiber Art

For this week’s fiber art activity, I was really looking forward to an excuse to take time to sew or knit. I’m constantly filling my busy schedule with school assignments, exercising, cooking food, or socializing with friends that I rarely have time to peacefully do something alone, for my own leisure.

I decided to loom knit a scarf, something that I could still use after the project was over. I went to Michael’s to buy a loom kit and some yarn, looked up a tutorial, and got to work!

yarnyarn 2

It took a few hours, spread out throughout the weekend when I had time at home. Once I got the hang of the process, it was much faster. I bought chopsticks from Daiso, used tape, and hung it up on the wall!

yarn4

This was the finished product:

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

yarn3

It was relaxing to work on this piece and I’ve already started another scarf, now that I have the materials to do so. I definitely had to think a lot about how I wanted to arrange the textile on the wall. If I had spent money to buy more materials, I could’ve arranged it much more differently and intricately, but overall it was an interesting process. It made me think about all the detailed work that goes into making the fibers that we consume and buy constantly.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Glenn Zucman says:

    Hi Stephanie!

    Thanks for the sweet email.

    BTW, this project is gorgeous!!!

    Happy 2016 Stephanie!

    Like

Leave a Reply

