Wk 6 – Activity – Identity Art

periscopearon

Before taking Art 110, I never even heard of the app “Periscope”. The first time I used it was to watch Glenn‘s course online. Hearing a famous periscoper, Bree Olson, talk last Tuesday gave me a taste of what this social medium was really like. It seems like a mesh of youtube and snapchat. Bree is has an entertaining social presence, and I feel that she has accumulated a large following due to her genuine and real personality when videotaping herself.

It’s actually quite simple – periscope is mostly just filming yourself going about your daily life activities, at least from what I’ve seen. I was initially nervous to broadcast myself for the public to see since I had never done something like this before. I was so shocked to see people watching, and I began to feel more comfortable. I interacted with the viewers and felt a connection. This user named Mike really enjoyed when I featured my roommate Michelle in my broadcasts.

In the future I will likely use Periscope again. The support I got from viewers, of me just walking around campus and talking, was very comfortable and more fun that I would’ve imagined. I think that it is a great platform to share what is on people’s minds, and be an individual of influence as Bree is.

Leave a Reply

